Ube Cooking

The Ube Baking Book

By Henry Awayan

Add a taste of the Philippines to your favorite cookies, brownies, cakes, breads, and more with the first-ever baking cookbook dedicated to the yam called UBE!

Ube, meaning “tuber” in Tagalog, is a purple yam originating from the Philippines. Ube is totally unique—it is flavorful, sweet, nutty, and bright purple! Its one-of-a-kind flavor and showstopping color have made it the trendiest ingredient in baked goods and desserts in Asia and around the world.

Now, with the first ube-dedicated baking book, you can make your own violet and exceptional creations. With over 50 beautiful photographs and easy-to-follow recipes, award-winning baker Henry Awayan offers his traditional childhood favorites as well as brand-new creations, including:

  • Ube halaya (Filipino jam)
  • White-chocolate chip ube brownies
  • Halo halo
  • Mango ube cream tart
  • Ube crème brûlée
  • And more!

Perfect for fans of Trader Joe’s Ube Mochi Pancake and Waffle Mix or home chefs of all levels, this book will add a pop of color to your baking game.

Coming Soon
PRE-ORDER NOW!
author-image-placeholder
AUTHOR

Henry Awayan

Henry Awayan is baker and owner of the award-winning Whisk Cake Creations in Alameda, CA. He began baking at the age of 10, when he baked his first cake for his mom after she returned home from a trip in the Philippines. A graduate of culinary and pastry school as well as the Ice Cream School through the agricultural science winter program at Penn State, he has worked for various bakeries, catering companies, restaurants, country clubs, and hotels throughout the San Francisco Bay Area. After many years in the industry, he decided to follow his childhood dream and opened his very own bakery in 2014.  In 2017, Henry was featured on the Food Network Show <i>Bakers vs Fakers</i>. Over the past eight years, his cakes have also been featured on local news stations and in SF Gate. Whisk Cake Creations was voted Best Bakery in Alameda in 2022. Henry has a strong passion for baking, just as much as he has a strong passion for his family and friends. He lives in San Leandro with his wife, Margie, and two children.

Read more
PRODUCT INFO
Released: August 2024
Price: $19.95

ISBN-10: 1646045440
ISBN-13: 978-1-64604-544-0

Paper Over Board
7.5 x 9.25
128 pages

Rights Available:
World
Interest

To interview our authors, review our books, or obtain publicity material, please contact the Ulysses Press Publicity Department

 

Wholesale Orders: To order books in bulk from Simon & Schuster, please visit our Wholesale Ordering page

Get the Ulysses Press Newsletter

Ulysses Press uses Google Analytics. If you would like to opt out of GA data tracking you can here. Click here to opt-out.